The legal age to purchase or consume alcohol, tobacco, vapor products, and smoking hemp (CBD) is 21 years old in Tennessee. Although the legal age was 18 years old, it was increased to 21 years old on January 1, 2021 pursuant to Public Chapter No. 732.Minor in Possession of Alcohol
Under T.C.A. §57-3-412, it is a Class A misdemeanor for a person under the age of 21 to buy, possess, transport, or consume alcohol. If convicted, you face up to 11 months and 29 days in jail and the judge may suspend your license.Minor in Possession of Tobacco, Vapor, or Smoking Hemp Products
The legal age to purchase tobacco, vapor, or smoking hemp products in Tennessee is 21 years old. Vapor products include Juuls, Tiko pods, other e-cigarettes, and CBD products that employ a heating element to vaporize the substance to be smoked. Smoking hemp includes the other CBD products that do not qualify as vapor products, such as CBD flower or bud. This is a civil offense and if you are at least 18 years old the court may issue a fine ranging from $10 to $50. Additionally, the court may force you to complete up to 50 hours of community service work.Misrepresenting Age
It is a misdemeanor for a person under the age of 21 to knowingly lie or present a fake I.D. to the effect that the person is 21 years of age or older for the purpose of purchasing alcohol or other age prohibited products. If you are between 18 and 21 years old you will face criminal penalties, pay a fine ranging $50 to $200, in addition to having your license suspended for up to a year. The statute also allows for the judge to impose a jail sentence ranging five to 30 days.
If you are under the age of 18, you must pay a $50 fine and complete 20 hours of community service work.
Contact the Nashville criminal defense attorneys with Baker Associates today to discuss your case so we can begin working towards a favorable resolution.